top of page

Water Safety Grants

To assist NWT Communities, the NWTRPA is funding Water Safety grants to underline safety around bodies of water, where there is a risk of injury or drowning.

Two categories of grants are available: Water Smart® Learning & Swim to Survive®.

Swim to Survive®

Swim to Survive® grants are available to assist organisations in hosting one Swim to Survive® event at a Regional Aquatics Training Centre in either, Inuvik, Yellowknife, Fort Smith or Hay River. Participants will learn the basic skills needed to survive a fall into deep water taught by a certified Swim to Survive® instructor. 

Water Smart®

Applications for Water Safety grants will open May 1, 2024.


Funds are limited. Applications will be approved on a first-come, first-serve basis.

  • Elder Award
    The Elder Award recognizes an Elder that is sharing their knowledge in a good way with community and supporting others to be healthy. In this way, the nominee contributes to and is engaged in community life. The Elder has positive relationships with all generations, themselves, each other, and the land. Criteria The nominee is an Elder The nominee sharing what they know in a good way The nominee is taking care of their health and holistic wellbeing
  • Innovation Award
    The Innovation Award recognizes a community, organization, or individual in the NWT that has developed a creative approach to getting themselves and others active and healthy (particular consideration given to on the Land). This could be a program, facility, group, or anything else. The award recipient demonstrates a commitment to community needs and self-determination of community identity.


GNWT Logo - Bilingual - Colour.png
bottom of page