Each year, the NWTRPA presents awards to celebrate and recognize dedicated recreation professionals and volunteers in northern communities for their continuing efforts and achievements in promoting recreation and active living for all northerners.    


The NWTRPA Awards Nominations are currently closed for all award categories for the 2021 NWTRPA Awards.   



NWTRPA Award Categories

Scott McAdam Youth Leadership Award

The Scott McAdam Youth Leadership Award recognizes a youth under the age of 24 for outstanding achievements and contribution towards improving the quality of life of members of their community through volunteerism, work experience, and studies. Scott McAdam was the Recreation Director in Fort Simpson when he passed away in 2001. Previously, he was the Recreation Coordinator in both Aklavik and Tuktoyaktuk. Scott was one of the founders of the Beaufort Delta Sahtu Recreation Association and also served on the Board of Directors for the NWTRPA. Scott was very passionate about recreation and worked and volunteered for his communities in many capacities.

Innovation Award

The Innovation Award recognizes a community, organization, or individual in the NWT that has developed a creative, unique, or inventive program, facility, or approach to recreation and parks services. The Award recipient demonstrates a commitment to improving access and opportunities for community members to choose an active and healthy lifestyle.

Award of Excellence

The Award of Excellence recognizes an individual, organization, or community that significantly contributes to recreation and parks development in the NWT. The Award recipient demonstrates professionalism, community engagement, and significant achievements in the delivery of recreation and parks services.

Active Elder Award

The Active Elder Award recognizes inspirational Elders who are active and share their traditional activities or knowledge. The Active Elder Award recognizes and honours community role models.

Canadian Parks & Recreation Association Award of Merit

The Canadian Parks & Recreation Association (CPRA) Award of Merit recognizes an individual, organization, community, or business for outstanding achievement in recreation and parks.

The winner of this award is selected by CPRA and handed out by the NWTRPA at our annual conference in the fall. See more information for this award under the ‘Canadian Parks & Recreation Association Awards Program’ section below.

Honourary Life Membership

Honourary Life Membership recognizes a member who has made an outstanding contribution to the recreation and parks field, who has significantly served the NWT Recreation and Parks Association, and is nearing or has reached the end of their careers in the recreation and parks field. This award may recognize individuals or organizations.

Latest Awards News

Canadian Parks and Recreation Association (CPRA) Awards Program

The Canadian Parks and Recreation Association launched its awards program in January 2014 to nationally recognize individuals who have demonstrated a high level of commitment, passion and leadership in the parks and recreation sector.  


The CPRA Awards Program celebrates the collective and collaborative efforts between the local parks and recreation professionals and organizations (such as the NWTRPA and its members) to the national work being undertaken by the CPRA.  

All nominations are submitted by CPRA provincial/territorial member associations. If you have a candidate to nominate, please contact the NWT Recreation and Parks Association to submit a nomination for the award.  


For more information on the CPRA Awards Program, please contact info@cpra.ca.


NWT Recreation and Parks Association Box 841, 4908 49th Street
Yellowknife, NT X1A 2N6

The NWT Recreation and Parks Association's physical office is located in Sǫ̀mba K'è on Chief Drygeese Territory in Treaty 8, the traditional home of the Yellowknives Dene and the North Slave Métis, also known as Yellowknife, Northwest Territories.


P. (867) 669-8375      

F. (867) 669-6791