NWTRPA Annual General Meeting

     September 29, 2015
    Posted by NWT Recreation and Parks Association

    October 7th, 2015 at 12:00 Noon at the Fort Simpson Recreation Centre

    The NWTRPA Board of Directors will be presenting a motion to update our Bylaws.

    Background: At the 2014 NWTRPA Annual General Meeting the membership approved several changes to its Bylaws. The updated Bylaws were sent to the NWT Societies Registrar for filing and we received direction from the Registrar that further changes were needed in order to meet the requirements of the Societies Act. Below is an explanation of the recommended changes.

    Change #1: Article II (D) – Notice of Meetings (page 3)
    The current Bylaws to not specify how notice of an annual general meeting or special meeting will be given to the membership.

    The proposed Bylaw change will specify that for both AGMs and special meetings notice will be given to the membership by general mail and by email.

    These changes have been reviewed with the NWT Societies Registrar and are being recommended by the NWTRPA Board of Directors.

    Click here to see the proposed changes. 


    Board of Director Elections

    The NWTRPA will be hosting elections for the following Board of Director positions:

    • President
    • Director – North Slave Region (Behchoko, Whati, Gameti, Wekweeti, Dettah, N’Dilo)
    • Director – Beaufort/Delta Region (Aklavik, Fort McPherson, Inuvik, Tuktoyaktuk, Sachs Harbour, Ulukaktok, Paulatuk)
    • Director – Yellowknife

    Please contact Geoff Ray at (867) 669-8380 or at gray@nwtrpa.org if you are interested or have questions about being nominated for the NWTRPA Board of Directors.