The NWTRPA President Tim Van Dam standing with the 2017 NWTRPA and SideDoor Award Winners. L to R: Tim Van Dam, (unknown), Faith Raymond, Nathan McPherson (standing in for Marie Horassi), Tony Devlin (standing in for Nick Saturnino), Johanna Elliot, and Leela Gilday (standing in for Krystal Thompson).

The NWTRPA Board President, Cynthia White, standing with the 2018 NWTRPA and SideDoor Award Winners. L to R: Iris Notley (Executive Director of SideDoor), Hawa Dumbuya-Sesay (on behalf of YWCA), Eunice Nasogaluak, Beth Hudson, Arthur Taylor, Wilson Elliot, Christina Bonnetrouge, Tony Devlin, and Cynthia White.


Each year, the NWTRPA presents awards to celebrate and recognize dedicated recreation professionals and volunteers in northern communities for their continuing efforts and achievements in promoting recreation and active living for all northerners.

Nominations for the 2019 NWTRPA Awards have closed. The NWTRPA will be accepting nominations for all award categories in the fall of 2019 for the 2020 NWTRPA Awards. The deadline to submit nominations will be July 15th, 2020!

Below are a list of the Awards given out each year.

Scott McAdam Youth Leadership Award

The Scott McAdam Youth Leadership Award recognizes a youth under the age of 24 for outstanding achievements and contribution towards improving the quality of life of members of their community through volunteerism, work experience, and studies. Scott McAdam was the Recreation Director in Fort Simpson when he passed away in 2001. Previously, he was the Recreation Coordinator in both Aklavik and Tuktoyaktuk. Scott was one of the founders of the Beaufort Delta Sahtu Recreation Association and also served on the Board of Directors for the NWTRPA. Scott was very passionate about recreation and worked and volunteered for his communities in many capacities.

Innovation Award

The Innovation Award recognizes a community, organization, or individual in the NWT that has developed a creative, unique, or inventive program, facility, or approach to recreation and parks services. The Award recipient demonstrates a commitment to improving access and opportunities for community members to choose an active and healthy lifestyle.

Award of Excellence

The Award of Excellence recognizes an individual, organization, or community that significantly contributes to recreation and parks development in the NWT. The Award recipient demonstrates professionalism, community engagement, and significant achievements in the delivery of recreation and parks services.

Active Elder Award

The Active Elder Award recognizes inspirational Elders who are active and share their traditional activities or knowledge. The Active Elder Award recognizes and honours community role models.

Canadian Parks & Recreation Association Award of Merit

The Canadian Parks & Recreation Association (CPRA) Award of Merit recognizes an individual, organization, community, or business for outstanding achievement in recreation and parks. This achievement will have contributed to the advancement of recreation and parks territorially and/or nationally.

Honourary Life Membership

Honourary Life Membership recognizes a member who has made an outstanding contribution to the recreation and parks field, who has significantly served the NWT Recreation and Parks Association, and is nearing or has reached the end of their careers in the recreation and parks field. This award may recognize individuals or organizations.