Board of Directors

The 2018 NWTRPA Board of Directors. L to R: Betty Ann Drybones, Maria Catholique, Rena Chapple, Nathan McPherson, Mary Gordon, Cynthia White, and Lorna Storr (missing: Jill Gilday).

The NWT Recreation and Parks Association has an eight-person volunteer Board of Directors. The Board is comprised of a President, a Member-at-Large and six regional members from across the NWT.

The Board of Directors sets goals for the organization and monitors the progress towards reaching those goals.

Cynthia White - President

Cynthia White is the Community Services Program Coordinator in Fort Smith, NT. Cynthia has been a NWTRPA Board member since October 2014.

[email protected]

Maria Catholique - Director (South Slave)

Maria Catholique is the Recreation Coordinator with the Łútsël K’é Dene Band. Maria always enjoyed coordinating events for upcoming community festivities and volunteered to keep facilities open to the public when she returned from College. She is a first-time NWTRPA Board Member and excited to take on her new role.

[email protected]

Nathan McPherson - Director (Dehcho)

Nathan McPherson was born and raised in Fort Simpson where he works as the Recreation Coordinator. Nathan was the NWTRPA Dehcho Regional Director from 2011-2017 and is currently the Mackenzie Recreation Association President.

[email protected]

Jill Gilday - Director (Yellowknife)


Jill Gilday is the former Director of the Northern Youth Leadership Program in the Northwest Territories. Jill has been a NWTRPA Board member since October 2015.

[email protected] (through Geoff Ray)

Betty Ann Drybones - Director (North Slave)

Betty Ann Drybones has lived in Behchoko her entire life and has worked as a Personal Support Worker with the Tlicho Community Services Agency for 18 years. Betty Ann has done disability and mental health long-term care work and also assists the CNIB with clients in Behchoko. She is a mother of three, a grandmother, and is very excited to be involved with the NWTRPA as a first-time Board Member.

[email protected]

Lorna Storr - Director (Beaufort Delta)

Lorna Storr is an elder from Aklavik where she serves on the Recreation Committee. Lorna has been a NWTRPA Board member since September 2017.

Mary Gordon - Director-at-Large

Mary Gordon works as the Assistant Recreation Coordinator and Youth Coordinator for the Hamlet of Aklavik, as well as a lifeguard during the summer. She is also a member of the NWTRPA Aquatics Committee. Mary has been a Board Members since September 2017.

Rena Chapple - Director (Sahtu)

Rena Chapple hails from Tulít’a. She is a Community Health Representative with the Tulít’a Primary Community Care Team at the Harriet Glaudeu Health Centre. This will be Rena’s first year as an NWTRPA Board Member.

[email protected]